Filing Analysis
Silvaco Group, Inc. entered into a $10.0 million Senior Convertible Promissory Note Purchase Agreement with Micron Technology, Inc., a major customer of the company. The note features an 8.0% interest rate and converts to common stock at a discount in August 2028 or upon a Change of Control.
🚩 Red Flags
- Potential dilution due to convertible note with a significant discount (90% of FMV).
- Nasdaq Cap risk: If conversion exceeds limits and shareholder approval is not obtained, the company faces an immediate cash repayment obligation for the difference.
- Restrictive covenants on additional indebtedness ($50M cap).
📋 Key Facts
- Issued $10.0 million Senior Convertible Promissory Note to Micron Technology, Inc. on August 6, 2026.
- Note bears 8.0% simple interest per annum, with interest accruing and converting into common stock.
- Conversion price is the lower of (i) 90% of FMV on Conversion Date or (ii) 115% of the trading day prior to conversion.
- Automatic conversion occurs on August 7, 2028, or upon a Change of Control event.
- Issuance is subject to Nasdaq Cap (Rule 5635(d)); failure to obtain shareholder approval for excess shares triggers a cash repayment obligation.
- The agreement restricts the company from incurring additional debt beyond $50.0 million in aggregate consolidated indebtedness.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the first fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2026. The filing includes a press release as Exhibit 99.1 but does not contain specific earnings data in the text provided.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: First fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2026.
- Filing date: August 6, 2026.
- The company issued a press release (Exhibit 99.1) regarding its financial results.
- The registrant is an emerging growth company.
Silvaco Group, Inc. issued 69,062 shares of common stock to John Cary (a former equityholder of Tech-X Corporation) as part of an acquisition settlement. The issuance serves as contingent earnout consideration and post-closing adjustments in lieu of cash.
🚩 Red Flags
- Dilution: Issuance of new equity to satisfy earnouts/adjustments can dilute existing shareholders.
📋 Key Facts
- Issuance of 69,062 shares of common stock ($0.0001 par value).
- Recipient: John Cary (former equityholder of Tech-X Corporation).
- Purpose: Satisfaction of contingent earnout milestones and post-closing adjustments related to the Tech-X Acquisition.
- The issuance is being made in lieu of cash.
- Shares are issued under a shelf registration statement on Form S-3 (File No. 333-291212) effective Nov 21, 2025.
- Company will receive no cash proceeds from this specific issuance.
Silvaco Group, Inc. (SVCO) has dismissed Baker Tilly US, LLP and appointed KPMG LLP as its new independent registered public accounting firm effective May 27, 2026.
🚩 Red Flags
- Explicit mention of a material weakness in internal control over financial reporting (ICFR) as a 'reportable event' in the context of the auditor change.
- The company has had multiple auditor transitions in a short period (Moss Adams merged into Baker Tilly in June 2025, then Baker Tilly dismissed in May 2026).
📋 Key Facts
- Baker Tilly US, LLP was dismissed on May 21, 2026.
- KPMG LLP was engaged as the new auditor on May 27, 2026.
- The change was decided by the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors.
- The company explicitly references a previously disclosed material weakness in internal control over financial reporting (ICFR) related to lack of formalized accounting processes and insufficient technical accounting personnel.
Silvaco Group, Inc. has increased its existing At-The-Market (ATM) offering program from $15.0 million to $35.0 million. The company also announced it is no longer subject to 'baby shelf' limitations as its public float has increased to approximately $175.3 million.
🚩 Red Flags
- Potential for significant shareholder dilution with $30.7 million in remaining ATM capacity.
- The company is actively utilizing the ATM to fund operations or growth, which can put downward pressure on the stock price.
📋 Key Facts
- ATM offering capacity increased by $20.0 million to a new total of $35.0 million.
- As of May 7, 2026, the company had already sold 752,744 shares for proceeds of approximately $4.33 million.
- Remaining capacity under the expanded ATM program is $30,668,720.
- Public float was calculated at $175,270,596 based on a May 6, 2026, closing price of $12.46 per share.
- The company transitioned from General Instruction I.B.6 ('baby shelf') to General Instruction I.B.1 of Form S-3, allowing for unrestricted securities sales.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced its financial results for the first fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2026. The company issued a press release and provided supplemental financial information on its corporate website.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: First fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2026.
- Filing date: May 7, 2026.
- The report was filed under Item 2.02 (Results of Operations and Financial Condition).
- Exhibit 99.1 contains the full press release regarding the financial results.
Silvaco Group, Inc. reported the results of its Annual Meeting of Stockholders held on April 22, 2026. All seven director nominees were elected to serve until the 2027 Annual Meeting.
📋 Key Facts
- The Annual Meeting was held on April 22, 2026, with a quorum of approximately 74% of outstanding shares present.
- As of the February 25, 2026 record date, there were 31,423,487 shares of common stock outstanding.
- Seven directors were elected: Cheemin Bo-Linn, Anita Ganti, Anthony Ngai, Katherine S. Ngai-Pesic, Iliya Pesic, Dr. Walden C. Rhines, and Theodore L. Tewksbury III.
- Dr. Walden C. Rhines received the highest number of 'Withhold' votes at 5,708,336, though he was still successfully elected.
Silvaco Group, Inc. has entered into an at-the-market (ATM) sales agreement with Jefferies LLC to sell up to $15.0 million of its common stock. The company may offer and sell shares from time to time at its discretion through the sales agent.
🚩 Red Flags
- Potential for shareholder dilution resulting from the issuance of up to $15.0 million in new equity.
📋 Key Facts
- Agreement entered with Jefferies LLC on March 13, 2026.
- Maximum aggregate offering price of $15.0 million in common stock.
- Sales agent compensation is up to 3.0% of gross sales price.
- Sales will be made pursuant to a Form S-3 registration statement effective as of November 21, 2025.
- The company is not obligated to sell any shares and can terminate the offering at any time.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced its financial results for the fourth quarter and full fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. The disclosure was made via a press release and supplemental financial information posted to the company's website.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting date of March 12, 2026, for the period ended December 31, 2025.
- The filing includes Item 2.02 (Results of Operations and Financial Condition).
- A press release detailing the financial performance was attached as Exhibit 99.1.
- The company is classified as an emerging growth company.
Silvaco Group, Inc. (SVCO) filed an 8-K disclosing that its Board of Directors approved Amended and Restated Bylaws effective February 13, 2026. The sole purpose of the amendment is to align the stockholder approval threshold for the removal of directors with the Company's Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation. This is a routine corporate governance housekeeping filing with no direct financial impact.
🚩 Red Flags
- Bylaw change to director removal threshold could potentially serve as an anti-takeover or board entrenchment mechanism — the specific threshold change is not disclosed in the 8-K body and requires review of Exhibit 3.2
📋 Key Facts
- Board approved Amended and Restated Bylaws effective February 13, 2026
- Change aligns the stockholder approval threshold for director removal with the Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation
- Filed under Item 5.03 (Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws)
- Company is an emerging growth company listed on Nasdaq Global Select Market (ticker: SVCO)
- Signed by Candace Jackson, SVP, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
- Company is incorporated in Delaware with principal offices in Santa Clara, CA
Silvaco Group, Inc. is issuing 167,281 shares of common stock to a former equityholder of Tech-X Corporation as part of an acquisition settlement. The issuance serves as contingent earnout consideration and post-closing adjustments in lieu of cash.
🚩 Red Flags
- Dilution: Issuance of new shares to a former equityholder of an acquired company.
📋 Key Facts
- Issuance of 167,281 shares of common stock ($0.0001 par value).
- Recipient: John Cary, a former equityholder of Tech-X Corporation.
- Purpose: Satisfaction of contingent earnout milestones and post-closing adjustments related to the Tech-X Acquisition.
- The issuance is being conducted via a shelf registration statement on Form S-3 (File No. 333-291212) declared effective Nov 21, 2025.
- The Company will receive no cash proceeds from this specific issuance.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced a significant restructuring program involving involuntary reductions in force and site closures to streamline operations. The company expects to recognize pre-tax charges between $2 million and $5 million as part of these cost-savings initiatives.
🚩 Red Flags
- Significant restructuring costs ($2M-$5M) impacting GAAP financial results.
- Multiple layers of workforce reduction (involuntary, voluntary early retirement, and voluntary exit programs).
- Planned site closures indicating geographic footprint contraction.
📋 Key Facts
- Involuntary reduction in force initiated on November 24, 2025, in the United States.
- Restructuring includes a voluntary early retirement program and a voluntary exit program.
- Planned site closures are part of a global site strategy.
- Estimated pre-tax charges range from $2 million to $5 million for severance and termination benefits.
- Majority of impacted employees expected to be terminated by December 31, 2025.
- Restructuring is expected to be substantially complete in fiscal year 2026.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the third fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2025. The filing serves as a formal announcement of the earnings release and includes supplemental financial information in Exhibit 99.1.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: Third fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2025.
- Filing date: November 12, 2025.
- The company issued a press release (Exhibit 99.1) containing the financial results.
- The information provided under Item 2.02 is not considered 'filed' for purposes of Section 18 of the Exchange Act.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced the appointment of Christopher Zegarelli as Chief Financial Officer, effective September 15, 2025. Mr. Zegarelli brings extensive semiconductor industry experience from roles at Infineon, GaN Systems, and Intel.
📋 Key Facts
- Christopher Zegarelli to join as CFO on September 15, 2025.
- Base annual salary is set at $450,000.
- Sign-on bonus of $400,000 split into two $200,000 installments; the second installment is tied to achieving fiscal 2026 revenue and profit targets.
- Equity compensation includes Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) with a total value of $2,300,000, vesting over four years.
- Annual incentive target is 60% of base salary.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced a leadership transition where Dr. Babak A. Taheri stepped down as CEO effective August 19, 2025. He is succeeded by Dr. Walden C. Rhines, a veteran semiconductor executive with significant experience at Mentor Graphics and Texas Instruments.
🚩 Red Flags
- Significant cash outflow related to CEO separation ($975k+ in severance plus benefits).
- High potential equity dilution via performance-based RSUs for the new CEO (up to ~$6.25M).
📋 Key Facts
- Dr. Babak A. Taheri resigned as CEO and from the Board effective August 19, 2025; departure was mutual and not due to disagreements.
- Separation package for Dr. Taheri includes $975,484 in cash severance (18 months' salary + bonus), 15 months of COBRA, accelerated vesting of 126,161 RSUs, and $32,000 in car/life insurance benefits.
- Dr. Walden C. Rhines appointed CEO; term runs from August 19, 2025, to March 31, 2027.
- Rhines' employment agreement includes performance-based RSUs with potential aggregate value up to $6,252,636 based on stock price thresholds.
- Potential severance for Rhines ranges from $500,000 (6 months) to $1,000,000 (12+ months) if terminated without cause or upon non-extension of term.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the second fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2025. The filing serves as a formal notice that supplemental financial information has been posted to the company's website.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: Second fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2025.
- Filing date: August 6, 2025.
- The filing includes a press release (Exhibit 99.1) detailing financial results.
- Company is an emerging growth company.
Silvaco Group, Inc. has completed the acquisition of Mixel Group, Inc. through a combination of cash and stock consideration. The deal includes the assumption of certain liabilities from the target company.
🚩 Red Flags
- Assumption of 'certain liabilities' from the target company (Mixel) introduces potential undisclosed financial obligations.
📋 Key Facts
- Acquisition consummated on August 1, 2025.
- Target: Mixel Group, Inc., a California corporation.
- Sellers: Ashraf K. Takla Living Trust and Nadia T. Takla Irrevocable Gift Trust.
- Consideration: Combination of cash and stock plus assumption of certain liabilities.
- The transaction was governed by a Stock Purchase Agreement dated July 29, 2025.
Silvaco Group, Inc. has entered into a Stock Purchase Agreement to acquire all outstanding common stock of Mixel Group, Inc. The transaction is expected to close on August 1, 2025.
🚩 Red Flags
- Transaction involving private trusts (Ashraf K. Takla Living Trust and Nadia T. Takla Irrevocable Gift Trust) may require closer scrutiny for potential related-party implications depending on the relationship between these trusts and Silvaco management/insiders.
📋 Key Facts
- Agreement signed on July 29, 2025.
- Target company: Mixel Group, Inc., a California corporation.
- Sellers include the Ashraf K. Takla Living Trust and the Nadia T. Takla Irrevocable Gift Trust.
- Expected closing date is August 1, 2025.
- The acquisition involves all outstanding shares of Mixel Group, Inc.
Silvaco Group, Inc. has appointed Baker Tilly as its new independent registered public accounting firm following the merger of Moss Adams LLP with Baker Tilly US, LLP. The change follows a period where an affiliate of Baker Tilly provided prohibited non-attest services during the transition.
🚩 Red Flags
- Existing material weakness in internal control over financial reporting (as disclosed in 2024 10-K) related to lack of formalized processes and insufficient technical expertise.
- Potential auditor independence issues during the transition period due to prohibited non-attest services provided by a Baker Tilly affiliate.
📋 Key Facts
- Moss Adams LLP resigned as the Company's auditor due to its merger/combination with Baker Tilly US, LLP.
- Baker Tilly was appointed by the Audit Committee on July 8, 2025.
- Baker Tilly Advisory Group, LP (an affiliate) previously provided prohibited non-attest services including tax provision calculations and software support.
- The Company reported no disagreements with Moss Adams regarding accounting principles or auditing scope.
- A material weakness in internal control over financial reporting was noted in the 2024 Form 10-K, specifically regarding formalized accounting processes and insufficient technical personnel.
Silvaco Group, Inc. held its Annual Meeting of Stockholders on May 22, 2025, where shareholders approved an amendment to the Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws to allow for the removal of directors without cause. The meeting also resulted in the election of several Class 1 directors.
🚩 Red Flags
- Removal of directors without cause is a significant governance change that can lead to increased board instability or susceptibility to hostile takeovers/activist pressure.
📋 Key Facts
- Annual Meeting held on May 22, 2025.
- Stockholders approved an Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation effective May 28, 2025.
- The amendment eliminates the requirement that directors can only be removed 'for cause'.
- Quorum was established with 24,083,974 shares present (approx. 83.61% of outstanding shares).
- Nine Class 1 directors were elected to serve until their successors are qualified.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the first fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2025. The filing includes a press release and supplemental financial information as exhibits.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: First fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2025.
- Filing date: May 7, 2025.
- The company is an emerging growth company.
- Exhibits include a press release (99.1) and supplemental financial information (99.2).
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced the acquisition of Tech-X Corporation via a press release on April 29, 2025.
📋 Key Facts
- Company acquired Tech-X Corporation.
- Announcement date: April 29, 2025.
- The filing is under Item 7.01 (Regulation FD Disclosure) and does not include financial statements for the business acquired at this time.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced the resignation of CFO Ryan Benton, effective April 11, 2025. CEO Babak Taheri will assume interim roles as principal financial and accounting officer to ensure continuity.
🚩 Red Flags
- Sudden departure of a key C-suite executive (CFO) in a micro-cap environment can create operational uncertainty.
- Concentration of duties: The CEO is assuming dual roles as Principal Financial and Accounting Officer, increasing management bandwidth pressure.
📋 Key Facts
- CFO Ryan Benton resigned on March 18, 2025; effective date is April 11, 2025.
- The company stated the resignation is not due to any disagreement regarding operations, accounting, or other policies.
- CEO Babak Taheri will serve as interim Principal Financial Officer and Principal Accounting Officer at no additional compensation.
- Keith Tainsky (FP&A lead) will report directly to the CEO as Interim CFO.
- The company reaffirmed its previously disclosed guidance for Q1 and full fiscal year 2025 (from March 5, 2025 press release).
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the fourth fiscal quarter and full year ended December 31, 2024.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: Fourth fiscal quarter and full year ended December 31, 2024.
- Filing date: March 5, 2025.
- The filing includes a press release (Exhibit 99.1) and supplemental financial information (Exhibit 99.2).
Silvaco Group, Inc. (via its subsidiary Silvaco, Inc.) has completed the acquisition of Cadence Design Systems, Inc.'s 'Process Proximity Compensation' product line, an optical proximity correction tool.
🚩 Red Flags
- Assumption of 'certain liabilities' associated with the purchased assets; specific terms/amounts not disclosed in the summary.
📋 Key Facts
- Transaction consummated on March 4, 2025.
- Acquisition includes assets comprising the Seller's Process Proximity Compensation product line.
- The transaction was completed for cash and the assumption of certain liabilities.
- The seller is Cadence Design Systems, Inc., a major player in the EDA (Electronic Design Automation) industry.
Silvaco Group, Inc. issued a press release announcing preliminary unaudited financial results for the fourth quarter and fiscal year ended December 31, 2024.
📋 Key Facts
- Report date: January 14, 2025
- Reporting period: Q4 and Full Year ended December 31, 2024
- Nature of results: Preliminary and unaudited
- Exchange: Nasdaq Global Select Market (SVCO)
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced a favorable court ruling in Santa Clara County regarding a breach of contract lawsuit. The court denied a motion from former Nangate Denmark ApS shareholders for $3.8 million in prejudgment interest on previously disclosed damages.
🚩 Red Flags
- The company is involved in ongoing litigation involving significant sums ($11.3M damages).
📋 Key Facts
- Court ruling date: December 23, 2024
- The Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara ruled in favor of the Company regarding a motion for prejudgment interest.
- Former shareholders of Nangate Denmark ApS sought $3.8 million in prejudgment interest on previously disclosed $11.3 million damages.
- As of September 30, 2024, the Company had already recorded a charge for the estimated $3.8 million to accrued expenses and other current liabilities.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced that the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has affirmed a lower court's dismissal of all claims brought against the company by Aldini AG.
📋 Key Facts
- The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit affirmed the dismissal of claims.
- The original claims were brought by Aldini AG in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California.
- The announcement was made via press release on December 19, 2024.
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced the immediate retirement of its Chief Technology Officer, Raul Camposano, effective December 13, 2024.
📋 Key Facts
- Raul Camposano retired from his position as Chief Technology Officer on December 13, 2024.
- The departure was by mutual agreement between the officer and the Company.
- The retirement is effective immediately.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2024. The filing includes a press release and supplemental financial information as exhibits.
📋 Key Facts
- Report date: November 12, 2024
- Reporting period: Fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2024
- The company is an emerging growth company
- Exhibits include a press release (99.1) and supplemental financial information (99.2)
Silvaco Group, Inc. issued a press release announcing preliminary revenue results for the third quarter of 2024 and updated its full-year financial outlook for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2024.
📋 Key Facts
- Announced preliminary revenue results for Q3 ended September 30, 2024.
- Updated full-year outlook for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2024.
- The information was released via press release dated October 15, 2024.
Silvaco Group, Inc. reported a significant jury verdict in the Nangate Litigation involving punitive damages against the company and its leadership. The company faces potential liabilities totaling tens of millions of dollars in compensatory and punitive damages following allegations related to the 2018 acquisition of Nangate.
🚩 Red Flags
- Significant punitive damage award ($17M) against the company for fraud claims.
- Joint and several liability involving the Chairperson (Ms. Kathy Pesic).
- Potential requirement to post a large appeal bond (approx. 1.5x judgment) if appealing.
- Litigation timeline could extend two or more years through appeals.
📋 Key Facts
- Jury awarded $17.0 million in punitive damages against the Company for fraud-related claims.
- The Nangate Parties may elect either: (i) Contract Damages (~$14.7M–$15.2M including interest) or (ii) Fraud Damages ($6.6M) plus Punitive Damages ($17.0M).
- Individual punitive damages were awarded against Ms. Kathy Pesic ($6.0M) and Mr. Iliya Pesic ($10.0M).
- A subsequent hearing is scheduled for October 4, 2024.
- The Company intends to challenge the verdicts via post-judgment motions and potential appeals.
- An appeal may require an appeal bond equal to 1.5 times the judgment amount.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2024. The filing includes a press release and supplemental financial information as exhibits.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: Fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2024.
- Filing date: August 7, 2024.
- The company is an emerging growth company.
- Exhibits include a press release (99.1) and supplemental financial information (99.2).
Silvaco Group, Inc. announced a jury verdict in the 'Nangate Litigation' regarding the 2018 acquisition of Nangate Denmark ApS. A jury awarded $11.3 million to plaintiff shareholders for breach of contract, with potential punitive damages and interest still pending.
🚩 Red Flags
- Significant legal liability: $11.3M award plus potential interest and punitive damages.
- Governance risk: The Board Chair (Katherine S. Ngai-Pesic) was named as a defendant in the litigation.
- Uncertainty regarding total payout due to upcoming punitive damage hearing on August 16, 2024.
📋 Key Facts
- Jury verdict entered on July 23, 2024, in Silvaco, Inc. v. Ole Christian Andersen et al (Case No. 20CV374355).
- The verdict was in favor of Nangate shareholders and against a Company subsidiary and Board Chair Katherine S. Ngai-Pesic.
- Awarded $11.3 million for breach of contract claims.
- Estimated potential statutory prejudgment interest of up to $4.2 million.
- A hearing regarding punitive damages for fraud is scheduled for August 16, 2024.
- The Company is considering post-trial motions and appeals.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to announce its financial results for the fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2024. The filing includes a press release and supplemental financial information as exhibits.
📋 Key Facts
- Reporting period: Fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2024.
- Filing date: June 20, 2024.
- Exhibits included: Press release (99.1) and Supplemental Financial Information (99.2).
- The company is classified as an emerging growth company.
Silvaco Group, Inc. filed an 8-K to furnish historical financial information and an investor presentation via its website under Regulation FD disclosure.
📋 Key Facts
- Filed on June 4, 2024.
- The company is disclosing historical financial information (Exhibit 99.1).
- An investor presentation dated June 4, 2024, was included as Exhibit 99.2.
- Information is furnished under Item 7.01 and not 'filed' for purposes of Section 18 of the Exchange Act.
Silvaco Group, Inc. completed its initial public offering (IPO) of 6,000,000 shares at $19.00 per share, raising approximately $114 million in gross proceeds. The filing also includes amendments to the company's Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws effective upon the closing of the IPO.
📋 Key Facts
- Completed IPO of 6,000,000 shares of Common Stock.
- Offering price: $19.00 per share.
- Gross proceeds to Company: $114.0 million (before underwriting discounts and expenses).
- Effective date of amended Certificate of Incorporation and Bylaws: May 13, 2024.
- Listing exchange: Nasdaq Global Select Market.